You can use the EHIC in the 26 other European Union Member States, namely Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

Nevertheless, the EHIC cannot not be used in the following overseas territories of the following Member States:

  • France: French Polynesia: the Marquesas Islands (namely Fatu Hiva and Nuku Hiva), the Gambier Islands, Tuamotu (namely Mururoa and Puka Puka), the Austral Islands (namely Rapa Iti and Tubuai), Tahiti, Bora Bora and Moorea, Wallis and Futuna, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, the French Southern and Antarctic territories, New Caledonia, Clipperton
  • the Netherlands: Aruba, Saba, Curaçao, Bonaire, Sint-Maarten, Sint Eustatius
  • Denmark: the Faroe Islands.

The European regulations do not apply to Northern Cyprus, Turkish sector, which is occupied by Turkey.

You can use your EHIC in countries that are not part of the European Union: 

  • Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein
  • Switzerland
  • North Macedonia
  • the United Kingdom
    • Nevertheless, the EHIC cannot not be used in the following British territoriesthe Channel Islands Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney, Sark, Herm, the Isle of Man, the Cayman Islands, the Southern Sandwich Islands, Anguilla, Bermuda, Montserrat, Saint Helen, Ascencion and Tristan da Cunha, the Falklands, the Chagos Archipelago, Pitcairn, the British Virgin Islands, the Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Australia. Local formalities in Australia:
    • When on holidays: just show your EHIC to the health care provider and you will receive a Medicare number.
    • For longer stays: register at a Medicare office by presenting your passport and EHIC. You will then receive a Medicare card.