Am I entitled to an EHIC ?

Anyone who pays social contributions in Belgium and receives reimbursement for their medical costs from their Belgian health insurance fund (e.g. employees, unemployed, self-employed), can apply for an EHIC.

Where can I use my EHIC ?

You can use the EHIC in the 27 other European Union Member States, namely Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Nevertheless, the EHIC cannot not be used in the following overseas territories of the following Member States:

  • France: French Polynesia: the Marquesas Islands (namely Fatu Hiva and Nuku Hiva), the Gambier Islands, Tuamotu (namely Mururoa and Puka Puka), the Austral Islands (namely Rapa Iti and Tubuai), Tahiti, Bora Bora and Moorea, Wallis and Futuna, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, the French Southern and Antarctic territories, New Caledonia, Clipperton
  • United Kingdom: the Channel Islands Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney, Sark, Herm, the Isle of Man, the Cayman Islands, the Southern Sandwich Islands, Anguilla, Bermuda, Montserrat, Saint Helen, Ascencion and Tristan da Cunha, the Falklands, the Chagos Archipelago, Pitcairn, the British Virgin Islands, the Turks and Caicos Islands
  • the Netherlands: Aruba, Saba, Curaçao, Bonaire, Sint-Maarten, Sint Eustatius
  • Denmark: the Faroe Islands.

The European regulations do not apply to Northern Cyprus, Turkish sector, which is occupied by Turkey.

You can use your EHIC in countries that are not part of the European Union: 

  • Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein
  • Switzerland
  • North Macedonia
  • Australia. Local formalities in Australia:
    • When on holidays: just show your EHIC to the health care provider and you will receive a Medicare number.
    • For longer stays: register at a Medicare office by presenting your passport and EHIC. You will then receive a Medicare card.

 

Under what circumstances may I use my EHIC ?

You can use your European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) if you are staying abroad (see the list of countries in "Where can I use my EHIC ?") and need unforeseen medical treatment. The reasons for your stay are irrelevant. You can be abroad for holiday, work, studies etc.

If your goal is to have medical care or give birth abroad, the use of the EHIC is not allowed.

How can I get an EHIC ?

By applying for an EHIC at your health insurance fund (by telephone, by post, by e-mail, or through the website of your health insurance fund).

What should I do if I am going to study in one of the countries listed in "Where can Is use my EHIC" ?

Ask your health insurance fund for an EHIC. With the EHIC you can ask reimbursement in the country where you are studying for necessary care.

Can I apply for an EHIC even if I do not posses an EU nationality ?

Yes, you can apply for a card irrespective of your nationality.

Is the EHIC given per family?

No, the EHIC is an individual document. You will have to apply for an EHIC for every family member (also for the children).

Am I entitled to reimbursements for all medical care abroad?

No, only medical care that is necessary to continue your stay will be reimbursed. If the medical care is not unexpected and necessary, the foreign hospital or health insurance fund might refuse your EHIC and you will have to pay all the expenses.

However there are  some exceptions to this general rule. The EHIC also covers medical care of chronical illness and other existing illness. This is the case for: haemodialysis, oxygen therapy, chemotherapy, special anti-asthmatic treatment, echocardiography for a chronical autoimmune disease, and unexpected and necessary medical care related to pregnancy or childbirth.

If your goal was to have medical care or give birth abroad, the use of the EHIC is not allowed.

If you did not use your EHIC abroad, you can send all your medical bills to your health insurance fund once you have returned to Belgium. The health insurance fund will check if you are entitled to reimbursement for the medical expenses (please read more about this subject in "Reimbursement for healthcare received abroad").

How should I use the EHIC?
  • In case of public hospitals or health care providers
    • In case of a hospitalisation, the EHIC will be shown to the hospital. They should make a copy of the card and return it to you. Thanks to the EHIC, all medical expenses will be billed directly to your health insurance fund, based on the prices that are valid in the country you are staying in. It is possible that you will have to pay a smaller amount yourself: the patient's share.
    • In case of ambulatory care: in certain countries, ambulatory care is free when you show your EHIC. However, in most countries you will have to pay ambulatory care yourself. Afterwards, you can submit the medical bills and your EHIC to a local health insurance fund and apply for a reimbursement.
    • If the treatment is covered by Mediphone Assist, you can contact the assistance centre. Otherwise you can send the medical expenses and proof of payement to your own health insurance fund once you have returned to Belgium.

 

  • In case of private hospitals or health care providers:
    • The EHIC is not accepted in private hospitals or by private health care providers.
    • You can contact the assistance centre Mediphone Assist to ask whether the treatment is covered. Otherwise you can send the medical bills to your own health insurance fund once you have returned to Belgium.
May I travel abroad without an EHIC?

Yes, you may travel abroad without an EHIC.

In case of an urgent hospitalisation or ambulatory care following a winter sports accident, the assistance centre Mediphone Assist is available 24 hours a day and 7 days a week (0032 2 778 94 94 - this number is printed on the back of the EHIC) can send all the necessary documents to the foreign hospital within 48 hours, so that the medical expenses will be covered.
In all other cases, you will need to contact your health insurance fund to ask for a replacement certificate (= a paper form that gives you the same rights as an EHIC, but for a shorter period of time).

How long will the EHIC be valid?

The expiry date of the EHIC is printed on the bottom right of the card.

Please note: this means you can use your EHIC for several stays or holidays abroad. We advise you to keep the EHIC as long as it is valid.
What happens if I lose or forget my EHIC?

If you left Belgium without your EHIC, Mediphone Assist or your health insurance fund can send you a replacement certificate (a paper form that gives the same rights as an EHIC, but for a shorter period of time). If you have lost your EHIC, you can apply for a new one at your health insurance fund.

Is the EHIC free?

Yes, the EHIC is free.

Ai-je droit à une carte européenne d'assurance maladie ?

Toute personne qui paye des cotisations sociales en Belgique et qui reçoit un remboursement de ses frais médicaux de sa mutualité belge (par ex. les travailleurs, les chômeurs, les indépendants, …) peut demander une CEAM. 

Où puis-je utiliser la CEAM ?

Vous pouvez utiliser la CEAM dans les 27 autres Etats membres de l'Union européenne, à savoir : l'Autriche, la Bulgarie, la Croatie, Chypre, le Danemark, l'Allemagne, l'Espagne, l'Estonie, la Finlande, la France, la Grèce, la Hongrie, l'Irlande, l'Italie, la Lettonie, la Lituanie, le Luxembourg, Malte, les Pays-Bas, la Pologne, le Portugal, la Roumanie, la Slovénie, la Slovaquie, la République tchèque, le Royaume-Uni et la Suède.

La CEAM ne peut toutefois pas être utilisée sur les territoires d’outre-mer de certains Etats membres. Ces territoires d’outre-mer sont :

Pour la France : la Polynésie française : les îles Marquises (e.a. Fatu Hiva et Nuku Hiva), les îles Gambier, les îles Tuamotu (e.a. Mururoa, Puku Puku), les îles Australes (e.a. Rapa Iti, Tubuai), Tahiti, Bora Bora et Moorea, Wallis et Futuna, Saint-Pierre et Miquelon, les terres australes et antarctiques françaises, la Nouvelle-Calédonie, Clipperton.
Pour le Royaume-Uni : les îles anglo-normandes Jersey, Guernesey, Alderney, Sark et Herm; l'île de Man, les îles Cayman, les îles Sandwich du Sud Anguilla, les Bermudes, Montserrat, Sainte-Hélène, les Falklands, archipel des Chagos, Pitcairn, les îles Vierges britanniques, les îles Turques-et-Caïques, Ascension et Tristan da Cunha
Pour les Pays-Bas : Aruba, Saba, Curaçao, Bonaire, Saint-Martin, Saint-Eustache
Pour le Danemark : les îles Féroé

Les Règlements européens ne sont pas non plus en vigueur dans la Chypre du Nord, qui est occupée par la Turquie.

La CEAM peut également être utilisée dans une série de pays qui ne font pas partie de l’Union européenne.

  • en Islande, en Norvège, au Lichtenstein
  • en Suisse
  • en Macédoine du Nord
  • en Australie
    Formalités sur place en Australie :
    • En cas de vacances : vous montrez simplement votre CEAM au prestataire de soins qui vous remettra un numéro Medicare.
    • En cas de séjour de plus longue durée : vous vous faites enregistrer auprès d'un bureau Medicare sur présentation de votre passeport et de votre CEAM. Vous recevez alors une carte Medicare.

 

Dans quelles circonstances puis-je utiliser la CEAM ?

Vous pouvez utiliser la carte européenne d'assurance maladie (CEAM) quand vous séjournez à l'étranger (cfr. "Où puis-je utiliser la CEAM ?") et que vous avez besoin de soins médicaux nécessaires pour la poursuite de votre séjour. La raison de votre séjour n'a pas d’influence : vous pouvez vous trouver à l'étranger pour des vacances, pour votre travail, pour vos études, etc.

Si l'objectif est de se faire soigner ou d'accoucher dans le pays des soins, la CEAM ne peut pas être utilisée.

Comment puis-je obtenir la CEAM ?

En la demandant à la mutualité (par téléphone, par écrit, par e-mail, via le guichet en ligne sur Internet). La CEAM est gratuite.

Que dois-je faire si je vais étudier dans l'un des pays qui utilisent la carte CEAM ?

Vous demandez une CEAM à votre mutualité. Avec la CEAM, vous pouvez demander un remboursement sur place des soins nécessaires dans le pays où vous étudiez.

Puis-je demander une CEAM, même si je n'ai pas une nationalité d’un des pays de l’Union européenne ?

Oui, la carte peut être demandée indépendamment de la nationalité. Cependant certains pays ont limité l’usage de la CEAM à certaines nationalités uniquement. Ainsi, en raison de leur nationalité, certaines personnes ne pourront pas utiliser leur CEAM au Danemark, en Islande, en Norvège, au Liechtenstein ou en Suisse.

La CEAM est-elle remise par famille ?

Non, la CEAM est un document individuel. Vous devez demander une CEAM par membre de la famille (également pour les enfants).

Ai-je droit au remboursement de tous les soins médicaux à l'étranger ?

Non, seuls les soins nécessaires à la poursuite de votre séjour sont remboursés.
Si les soins médicaux ne sont pas inopinés et indispensables, l'hôpital étranger ou la mutualité étrangère pourra refuser votre CEAM et vous devrez payer tous les frais sur place.

Il y a toutefois des exceptions à ce principe général. Les soins ou traitements médicaux liés à des maladies chroniques ou d'autres affections préexistantes sont également couverts par la CEAM, et plus particulièrement : la diayse rénale, l’oxygénothérapie, la chimiothérapie, le traitement antiasthmatique particulier, l’échocardiographie en cas de maladie auto-immune chronique, les soins médicaux nécessaires et imprévus liés à une grossesse ou un accouchement.

Si l’objectif est de se faire soigner ou d’accoucher dans le pays des soins, la CEAM ne peut pas être utilisée.

Si vous n’avez pas utilisé votre CEAM à l’étranger, vous pouvez transmettre  les factures à votre mutualité à votre retour en Belgique. La mutualité vérifiera si vous avez droit à un remboursement des frais médicaux (plus d’informations à ce sujet dans l'onglet "Remboursement des soins effectués à l'étranger").

Comment dois-je utiliser la CEAM ?

S'il s'agit d'hôpitaux ou de prestataires publics :

  • En cas d'hospitalisation : la CEAM est soumise à l'hôpital étranger. Il doit normalement faire une copie de la carte et vous rendre la CEAM. Grâce à la CEAM, les frais médicaux sont directement facturés à votre mutualité selon les tarifs en vigueur dans le pays de séjour. Il est possible que vous deviez payer un montant vous-même, le ticket modérateur.
  • En cas de soins ambulatoires : Dans certains pays, les soins médicaux seront gratuits sur présentation de la CEAM. Dans la plupart des pays, vous devrez toutefois d'abord payer les soins ambulatoires vous-même. Vous pouvez ensuite soumettre les factures, avec la CEAM, à l’organisme de sécurité sociale local pour obtenir un remboursement.
  • Vous pouvez contacter Mediphone Assist si les soins sont couverts par la centrale d’assistance, ou soumettre les factures et les preuves de paiement à votre mutualité à votre retour en Belgique.

S'il s'agit d'hôpitaux ou de prestataires privés :

  • La CEAM n'est pas acceptée dans les hôpitaux privés ou par les prestataires privés.
  • Vous pouvez contacter la centrale d’assistance si les soins sont couverts par Mediphone Assist, ou soumettre les factures et les preuves de paiement à votre mutualité à votre retour en Belgique.
Puis-je partir à l'étranger sans CEAM ?

Oui, vous pouvez partir à l'étranger sans CEAM.

  • En cas d'hospitalisation urgente ou de soins ambulatoires faisant suite à un accident de sports d’hiver, les documents nécessaires peuvent être fournis à l'hôpital étranger par la centrale d'assistance Mediphone Assist (0032 2 778 94 94 – le numéro de téléphone est indiqué au verso de la CEAM) dans les 48h suivant l’événement, pour la prise en charge des frais médicaux.
  • Dans les autres cas, contactez votre mutualité pour demander une attestation de remplacement (= formulaire papier qui donne les mêmes droits qu'une CEAM mais pour une période plus courte).
Combien de temps la CEAM est-elle valable ?

La date d’expiration est indiquée dans le coin inférieur droit de votre CEAM.

Attention : Vous pouvez donc utiliser votre CEAM pour différents séjours ou vacances à l'étranger. Vous faites donc mieux de conserver cette carte aussi longtemps que la période de validité indiquée sur la CEAM n'a pas expiré.

Que se passe-t-il si je perds ou oublie ma CEAM ?

Si vous êtes parti à l'étranger sans votre CEAM, Mediphone Assist ou la mutualité peut vous envoyer une attestation de remplacement (formulaire papier qui donne les mêmes droits qu'une CEAM mais pour une période plus courte). En cas de perte, vous pouvez demander une nouvelle CEAM à votre mutualité.

La CEAM est-elle gratuite ?

Oui, la CEAM est gratuite.